Kind of Red White Blue 2nd copy

more ramblings on music

Charlotte Cardin99 Nights. Massey Hall 
Shimmying on stage and knows how to do that hippy hippy shake. Strutting her stuff in her white outfit the height of fit and cool striding the stage in her white kicks shoes. Confident and comfortable in her own skin. It is only Sex to me she sings, she repudiates an idol in Jim Carrey. Centre stage was a grand piano in white with electronic pedals where she would play and emote, along with a smaller keyboard on stand. Accompanying her two person band — on drums and guitar or bass and keyboards as needed — was a flying wedge formation of violins on the upper tier of the stage. The lady has been around the world as seen from the 99 Nights tour shirt, she has been to Toulouse, France and Egypt. Tonight’s second visit to Massey Hall in eight days would be the last night of the tour and it was a celebration capped with bubbly in a glass shared with the crowd from the stage.


Nisa. Exaggerate. ep. cassette. cd. The deep insight into the proverbial indie girl music life a la Parker Posey Party Girl. By day or by night, Exaggerate takes on different moods and tones, it’s a comedown Sunday By late night listening it is the deep dive, by day Exaggerate takes on more of a reflective flashback to the night before; the minimalism of Nothing leads to the Exaggerate and a melancholy wistfulness or the searing anger at the louche ex in the life; however, the last track Sever by day buzzsaw into the psyche, by night it is the grinding of the teeth crash and comedown after an all-nighter bender. une nuit americaine The contrarian to the loucheness of life around her 

I want nothing from you Nothing from you Nothing from you Nothing There was no one above you No one above you No one above you Nothing I found my way out Of the broken love you said I craved And gave my heart to you When I knew it wouldn’t save the day I’m weaving webs with messages I know I shouldn’t send You’re always changing up my words So I just held my breath And said nothing to you Nothing to you Nothing to you Nothing There was no one to love you No one to love you No one to love Like I did

If I could delete the pain 
If I could exaggerate 
When you told me you would love me longer

I’m staring down the silence And starting to get anxious I’m trying not fixate Or focus on an exit You’re giving me a deadline You’ve always been impatient I’m finding reassurance In all of the affection

I can’t think straight Losing my way What did I mean to say Before I had to sever The vein Forever

Affection is particularly brilliant with its loopy background as she sings in her sing song voice of being in a one-way relationship bathing in the glowing emotions by an afternoon window or a compounding nighttime bitterness. Severwraps it up gnawing its way supercharged buzzsaw of guitar. 

20230205_224825__DSC2488

Affection is particularly brilliant with its loopy background as she sings in her sing song voice of being in a one-way relationship bathing in the glowing emotions by an afternoon window or a compounding nighttime bitterness. Severwraps it up gnawing its way supercharged buzzsaw of guitar.

So what is left is four songs on an ever-winding cassette narrating the tale of a sad It girl looking to the light by day or night. Nisa if she ever reads this would tell me we have it wrong, not that it would not be the first time. 

https://nisa.bandcamp.com for the Nisa creations. New album about to be released.

Leave a comment